You are exploring:  Library  >
Exhibits Home  > 
A Great Thing for our People: The Institute for Colored Youth in the Civil War Era  > 
Documents  > 
Philadelphia Pythians 1868 Roster

Philadelphia Pythians 1868 Roster

Philadelphia Pythians B.B.C. for Season of 1868

First Nine

Jefferson Carens

John Gannon

Frank J.R. Jones

John Graham

James Sparrow

Spencer Hanly

Joshua Adkins

Octavius V. Catto, Captain

Second Nine

Raymond J. Burr

Andrew J. Jones

Frederick Walker

Richard E.F.

David Knight

Edwin C. Vidal

Charles M. Thomas

James Ash

Henry Price

James Jenkins

Third Nine

John H. Davis

Joseph J. Minton

William T. Jones

Jacob C. White, Jr.

Harry Francis

Edward M. Bassett

William H. Minton

Henry Boyer

Thomas Jones 

Jacob R. Ballard

Thaddeus Manning


Background Information

This document lists the members of the undefeated 1868 Philadelphia Pythians baseball club. Among the team members were Institute graduates: Octavius V. Catto, Frank J.R. JonesAndrew J. Jones, Raymond J. BurrWilliam T. Jones, Jacob C. White, Jr., and Henry Boyer, Jr.

Image: "American Negro Historical Society Papers, 1867-1869," Leon Gardiner Collection [0008B], Historical Society of Pennsylvania.

Link: http://digitallibrary.hsp.org/index.php/Detail/Object/Show/object_id/12381


email.png     facebook.png     twitter.png